Hello Team,

Well I have made it safely to Paraguay!

I have been in four meetings and I have visited one Nutrition Station (Comedores). The meetings have been to look at new ministry opportunities as well as discussing the upcoming “Jungle Cruise”!

I also had a chance to look at (from a safe distance) one of the worst slum areas in downtown Asuncion. Here are a few pictures

While it looks pretty hopeless, you can see hope in the last few pictures. If you look carefully past the run down buildings you can see some sand and perhaps some construction right next to the river. Asuncion does actually sit on the banks of the Paraguay River (I will be on the river in a few days – but 300KM further north.) During the past 5 years that I have been coming here, there has always been talk of having some kind of public park along side of the river (Stanley Park seawall, Edmonton or Calgary river valley etc). Instead one of the worst and most dangerous slums in the country is right here. I have been in once with a Christian that lives there. Since then I have tried to get close to take some pictures, but the Police will not let you enter, as they themselves will not go in to rescue you!

If you look past the buildings but right next to the river you can see some clear area and sand. This seems to be the beginning of the public park!

BUT – it seems that they are starting to construct the park. I have seen lots of progress in the country over the past 5 years. Unfortunately, I have not seen these gains trickle down to the many poor. What happens to this slum area in the future, remains to be seen.

I managed to pull aside a few kids from the slum for picture

Thanks for your support!